The Good Boy Says…

A blog about life, sports, music, politics, and the world in general

Thoughts from 34,000 feet

What a difference a few months makes.

I write this from seat 12F on American Airlines Flight #1217, from Newark Airport to Chicago’s O’Hare. Despite a delay of over 1 ½ hours due to the inevitable thunderstorms in the New York City area, I’m about one hour from touching down in Chi-town. The affable Mark Jones and the lovely Kari Burgess will wed tomorrow afternoon in the city of St. Charles, IL. I’m going alone, as Erin and I only started dating two months ago. I’m cool with that, but I do wish that she were sitting next to me. A good time will undoubtedly be had – it would be great if she could be there to share it with me.

The last time I flew this route, my life was in a very different place. I was ensconced in romantic “limbo,” leaving NYC for a three day holiday in Chicago at the Burgess/Jones flat. I went, first and foremost, to see my pals – to drink heavily and to welcome 2006. (God knows that I was anxious to see 2005 come to a close.) I also went to escape – to “kick the tires” of the Second City. I was giving some serious thought to packing up my things and waving goodbye to the

July 29, 2006 - Posted by | Friends, Life in general, Travel

1 Comment »

  1. And I love him.

    Comment by Erin | July 30, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

