The Good Boy Says…

A blog about life, sports, music, politics, and the world in general

100 Things

My friend Amanda Martinez, part of my daily lunch crew at Rockefeller and easily one of my favorite people, did a list of “100 Things” about her on her MySpace blog. I enjoyed reading hers, learned a lot about my friend, and immediately wanted to do one. Amanda’s boyfriend Jorge referred to it as “a good exercise for the mind and soul.” I agree!

In no particular order of importance, here are my 100 things:

  1. I genuinely love my life right now.
  2. I have two brothers – Matt, who is 26, and Kevin, who is 24 – who are both very different from me.
  3. My favorite sports teams are all Philadelphia-based, even though I have lived in New York for 8 years.
  4. None of them have won a championship since 1983.
  5. This makes me very sad.
  6. I DVR Molto Mario every weekday, and usually watch it when I come home from work.
  7. Cooking shows make me happy.
  8. When I was little, I wanted to be a doctor, a weatherman, a broadcast journalist, and a sportswriter.
  9. I didn’t want to be a singer until I was a senior in high school.
  10. I very nearly attended Penn State, majoring in Journalism.
  11. My life was nearly very, very different.
  12. I’ve never been to South America, but really want to go.
  13. I’ve never been to Africa, but will go someday.
  14. I want to go everywhere.
  15. I have several people in my life that I consider my “best friend.”
  16. Field of Dreams makes me cry.
  17. My girlfriend Erin and I met on Eharmony.com.
  18. She was the only woman I actually met in person.
  19. After losing a bet, she had to plan our first date.
  20. Erin hates losing bets.
  21. I played baseball from age 7 to age 18.
  22. I still miss it.
  23. I once struck out 13 batters in one game.
  24. One of those batters, Harry Harley, went down three times.
  25. Later in his life, he was convicted of murder.
  26. I’m glad he didn’t charge the mound that day.
  27. American Idol embarasses me.
  28. I love to tell the “clown joke.”
  29. Most people think the “clown joke” isn’t funny. I am not one of those people.
  30. I really look forward to being a father.
  31. Technically, I was homeless for three weeks in January 2004
  32. I learned then, if I didn’t know already, that I have incredible friends.
  33. I’ve lived in 10 apartments since I moved to NYC in 1998.
  34. People think this is amazing.
  35. I’ve been a victim of crime three times since I moved here.
  36. I had my pocket picked once, my bag stolen once, and my car window smashed once.
  37. In all, I lost $120 in cash, a cell phone, and had to pay to replace the window. Nothing was stolen from the car.
  38. I lost a fight in 6th grade.
  39. As a result, I haven’t been in one since.
  40. I’m hungry.
  41. Before this fall, I had never been to an NFL game.
  42. I was in an opera before I saw one.
  43. Just about everything I do is intended to make people proud of me.
  44. Global warming is real, and scares the shit out of me.
  45. I hope Barack Obama is the next President of the United States.
  46. Yet, I’m afraid that if this happens, someone will try to kill him.
  47. I lack faith in many of my fellow human beings.
  48. This makes me very sad.
  49. I don’t like truffles.
  50. Sometimes I think I’d like to skydive.
  51. I have, at times, wanted a tatoo.
  52. I’m glad I never got one.
  53. I still feel like I’m in my 20s.
  54. I’m no longer in my 20s.
  55. I own more hair care products than Erin.
  56. Someday soon, I probably won’t need many of them.
  57. My Dad may need heart surgery.
  58. My parents’ mortality is hard to comprehend, sometimes.
  59. I was called back for the Broadway production of Rent three times.
  60. I didn’t get the part.
  61. I once had a fauxhawk that was bleached blonde.
  62. I don’t know what I was thinking.
  63. Story telling is one of my favorite things to do.
  64. I’d like to lose at least 10 pounds.
  65. I wish I owned a guitar.
  66. Fishing with my Dad is still one of my favorite activities.
  67. I call home to my parents several times a week.
  68. Blog is a stupid word.
  69. Filing is one of my least favorite tasks.
  70. I check my credit report far more often than I need to.
  71. I used to hunt.
  72. I own four guns, though I haven’t fired any of them in years.
  73. I never thought I could be in a relationship with someone who wasn’t a performer.
  74. Erin isn’t a performer.
  75. One of my favorite things about Erin is that she isn’t a performer.
  76. Today is Erin’s birthday.
  77. I am planning a trip to Ireland this August with my Mom, Dad, Matt and Kevin.
  78. Matt is getting married in November, so this will truly be the last “family vacation” in our family’s current composition.
  79. I really look forward to this trip.
  80. Our family hasn’t traveled together since I was in high school.
  81. That was a long time ago.
  82. I used to be a Rebublican.
  83. I used to write a newspaper column in high school where I took the conservative opinion.
  84. One of the topics was the “gays in the military” issue.
  85. I spoke out against it.
  86. I was such an ignorant 17 year old.
  87. Chicago is one of my favorite cities.
  88. I almost moved there last year.
  89. I love kitchen stores, like Bed, Bath & Beyond.
  90. Most of my friends from high school still call me “Doc.”
  91. One thing I learned over the years…no matter what, everything is going to be ok.
  92. Writing a list like this is harder than it looks.
  93. I tend to snore when I drink whiskey.
  94. I used to pray before bed, every single night.
  95. I remember asking God to “please bless” all the members of my family, including our pets.
  96. I had a rabbit named “Bugs.”
  97. I wasn’t a very original child.
  98. Losing my grandfather was the hardest thing I’ve ever endured.
  99. I think about him every day.
  100. If I become half the man he was, I will have done very well with my life.
January 22, 2007 - Posted by | Entertainment, Erin, Food & Wine, Friends, Life in general, Random

4 Comments »

  1. Wow, i’m impressed…but that level of self-analysis could force me into a drunken depression that would last for days…

    Comment by Charles | January 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. LOL. Don’t worry, Chaz. I’d be happy to join you at the bar so you won’t be lonely.

    Comment by bridoc10 | January 22, 2007 | Reply

  3. Glad to see you enjoyed the little self-exploration exercise. Still can’t get over the republican thing. At least you made it to the good side of the force soon enough. It’s amazing the things you can learn about a person, or yourself, in such a simple way. Thanks for sharing Brian.

    Comment by Amanda | January 22, 2007 | Reply

  4. I love the fact that you truly love your life. That in itself is an amazing feat.

    Comment by Lisa | February 15, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

